English EspaŮol
FranÁais Nederlands
Deutsch русский
Japanese Chinese
Home | Browse | Choirs | Trebles | Singers | Films | Books | New Releases | Events | Search | | Links | Contact BCSD | Sign In
9 SINGERS   Africa | W. Europe | E. Europe | Middle East | North America | Oceania | Scandinavia | South America | SE Asia | UK

  Steffan Rhys Hughes    (b. 1994) Folk/Traditional Soloist 
Print Friendly Page 
Steffan Rhys Hughes Steffan Rhys Hughes is from Denbigh, Denbighshire. He has been competing in Eisteddfodau since a very early age and has enjoyed much success at local, national and international levels.

He has sung with Bryn Terfel, Dennis O'Neill, Rhys Meirion, Aled Hall, Mary Lloyd Davies and many other Welsh singing stars and has performed in Tosca conducted by Owain Arwel Hughes as part of the Welsh Proms in St. David's Hall, Cardiff. He has recorded part of a Christmas CD with the National Youth Orchestra of Wales also conducted by Owain Arwel Hughes, in Brangwyn Hall, Swansea and has released his first solo CD in 2006.

His television appearances include Noson Lawen for S4C, 1000's of Christmas Voices concert from the Royal International Pavilion Llangollen, and he has recorded and filmed a 90 minute musical drama and a 30 minute children's version for S4C in Cardiff - "Nadolig Treflan" with Aled Hall, Mary Lloyd Davies, Fflur Wyn, Mirain Haf, Huw Euron, Catrin Finch, and others. This is expected to be shown for Christmas 2006. He has also recorded a concert to celebrate 25 years of broadcasting of Rhys Jones for Radio Cymru.

Steffan began competing at the Urdd National Eisteddfod in 2002, and has appeared at numerous concerts and events across Wales. He is on a 2004 DVD Bryn Terfel and the Urdd, recorded at St. David's Hall, Cardiff, 21.03.04. He also plays the piano and electric guitar. Steffan was nominated for a Trebby award in 2007.
Related Sites
23rd Psalm
23rd Psalm
From his CD
Eisteddfod 30th May 07 Steffan Duet
Eisteddfod 30th May 07 Steffan Duet I an honored to be able to bring you another fine clip. Another Winning performance by Steffan Rhys Hughes and Angharad Rowlands
Eistedfod Genedlaethol - Stefan Rhys Hughes
An early video of Stephen.
BBC Eisteddfod Article

Artist Details
Add a Tour or Event
Search Google for 'Steffan Rhys Hughes': Web - Images
Featured Recordings Compact | Full
Steffan Rhys Hughes - Cana o dy galon
Cana o dy galon (Sain SCD2515, CD) November 2006
Featuring Steffan Rhys Hughes  
Twelve-year-old Steffan Rhys Hughes from, Llandyrnog, has released his first solo CD, a CD for Christmas. Cana o dy Galon (sing from your heart), which was recorded in the Tabernacle in Machynlleth earlier this year, has 12 tracks, nine in Welsh and three in English and is on the Sain label.
  1.   Cana o dy Galon  
  2.   Duw Wyr  
  3.   Y Bugail Bach  
  4.   I ti dymunwn fyw  
  5.   Llewyrch ei seren  
  6.   In the bleak midwinter  
  7.   Suo g‚n  
  8.   O Seren Wen  
  9.   The Lord is my Shepherd  
10.   Cariad Mam  
11.   Oh Holy Night  
12.   SÍr y Nadolig  
Available at   Abergavenny Music
Available at   Sain Wales
Other Recordings Compact | Full
Steffan Rhys Hughes - Lleisiau Bechgyn Cymru Welsh Boy Trebles
Lleisiau Bechgyn Cymru Welsh Boy Trebles (Sain SCD2697, CD) 2013
Featuring Aled Jones   Richard Davies   Dylan Eurig   Rhys Meilyr Jones   Huw Edward Jones   Carwyn Llyr   Steffan Rhys Hughes   Darren Roberts   Philip Salmon   Phillip Watkins   Emyr Wyn  
A Compilation of popular songs sung by 11 of Wales most loved treble voices
  1.   Ave Maria (Bach)   Soloist Aled Jones
  2.   O Holy Night (Adam)   Soloist Aled Jones
  3.   F' Annwyl Wyt Ti (Giordani)   Soloist Philip Watkins
  4.   Dod Ar Fy Mhen (Sawley)   Soloist Philip Watkins
  5.   Christ Child (Tatton)   Soloist Oliver Sammons
  6.   Ave Maria (Schubert)   Soloist Oliver Sammons
  7.   Bugeilio'r Gwenith Gwyn   Soloist Huw Edward Jones
  8.   Tawel Nos   Soloist Dylan Eurig
  9.   On Wings Of Song (Mendelssohn)   Soloist Carwyn Llyr
10.   Morning Has Broken   Soloist Carwyn Llyr
11.   Pwy Yw Sylvia (Schubert)   Soloist Richard Davies
12.   Huna, Huna (Schubert)   Soloist Richard Davies
13.   Panis Angelicus (Franck)   Soloist Darren Roberts
14.   Pie Jesu (Webber)   Soloist Darren Roberts
15.   Mi Glywaf Dyner Lais (Hartsough)   Soloist Emyr Wyn
16.   Y Darlun (Davies)   Soloist Emyr Wyn
17.   Lord Is My Shepherd (Goodall)   Soloist Steffan Rhys Hughes
18.   I Ti Dymunwn Fyw (Murray)   Soloist Steffan Rhys Hughes
19.   Iesu Yw (Glyn)   Soloist Rhys Meilyr Jones
20.   Rho Fory I Minnau (Rees)   Soiloist Rhys Meilyr Jones
Available at   Sain Wales
Steffan Rhys Hughes - Christmas Spirit
Christmas Spirit (Quartz QTZ 2035, CD) Dezember 2005
Featuring Steffan Rhys Hughes  
Christmas Spirit - Owain Arwel Hughes and the National Youth Orchestra of Wales with four tracks featuring soloist Steffan Rhys Hughes
  1.   Christmas Overture arr.Edward Peak  
  2.   Troika Prokofiev  
  3.   The Snowman Howard Blake   Treble soloist: Steffan Rhys Hughes
  4.   Sleigh Ride Leroy Anderson  
  5.   March  
  6.   Sugar Plum Fairy  
  7.   Trepak  
  8.   In the Bleak Mid Winter arr Harvey   Treble soloist: Steffan Rhys Hughes
  9.   Christmas Festival Leroy Anderson  
10.   Silent Night arr.Harvey   Treble soloist: Steffan Rhys Hughes
11.   Polonaise from Christmas Eve Suite Rimsky-Korsakov  
12.   Ding Dong Merrily on High arr. Harvey  
13.   The Holy Boy Ireland  
14.   Away in a Manger arr. Harvey   Treble soloist: Steffan Rhys Hughes
15.   Christmas Medley arr.Edward Peak  
Available at   Quartz Music
This page last modified on Montag, 11. Dezember 2017
Copyright © 2018 The Boy Choir & Soloist Directory